BCM215 Comment Reflection

Reading through people’s DA pitches, it’s difficult to find a favourite. I picked a league of legends blog post as it was similar to mine, as well as two others that I would not have thought about doing as my own idea, so it was great to get some new info.

Comment link: https://toriswagyblogs.wordpress.com/2020/09/08/pitch-2/

Victoria’s DA is about the game League of Legends and how it run’s off microtransactions. League of Legends is a game I have played for just about six years and I am a huge fan of buying new skins, as a I enjoy supporting the developers of free to play games. She mentions that spending money on the game makes you no better at it, but I believe it should’ve been mentioned that new champions cost in game currency. While you can buy the champions with earnt currency, its actually quite hard to save up for a recently released one

Comment Link: https://dechlansblog.home.blog/bcm-215-da-pitch/

I was intrigued by Declan’s DA pitch, he was looking to focus on the story line of video games, talking about how a lot have gone online now. This interested me as I believe too that video games have moved away from this idea of developing stories, games like call of duty which are known for their online play, the campaign mode is rarely ever looked at. I suggested that he spoke about how some games you can’t even play offline now, consoles like the Xbox One often rely upon the internet to run. I know of a few people who don’t have internet connected in their house as they can’t afford the monthly payments, but they still enjoy playing video games, so often their new consoles will sit unused while they play older gen games. I suggested that he check out a polygon I linked on how to become a video game writer for some insight into the development of the story line.

Comment Link: https://chelsealeeblog.home.blog/2020/09/07/breathing-in-the-wild-zelda/

Chelsea’s DA will be looking into video game design, specifically Zelda: Breath of the Wild. As someone who doesn’t play the Zelda series, but keeps up with the culture of it I was surprised by how far the game had come design wise from the older instalments. A console like the Nintendo Switch is a bit graphically challenged, so the way that the designers managed to get the most out of it was amazing. Since I know nothing about breath of the wild, I did some more research into how they designed the game and found some great articles where they broke down the games design as a whole. I think something like Chelsea’s DA would help gamers appreciate the enormous amount of work that goes into designing a game.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started